Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Matt tutors in Boston, MA

Matt L.

Private tutor in Boston, MA

Education

BIO: Highly experienced, MIT/Harvard-trained tutor, specializing in rigorous academic tutoring, test preparation, and enrichment for high school, college, and graduate students across the sciences and humanities. EXPERIENCE: More than 7000 hours of experience in the Boston metro area and online; highest-rated tutor in Massachusetts in the subjects I teach at WyzAnt, an online tutoring marketplace. (See http://www.wyzant.com/tutors/MITHarvardTutor for more than 1000 5-star ratings and 50 written testimonials.) TEACHING PHILOSOPHY: I teach for deep mastery and lasting understanding, not just better grades and test scores. My style is heavily interactive and rigorous. I never use a script, and I always focus on critical reasoning. I emphasize logical and conceptual foundations and clear and creative thinking, never rote memorization or mechanical rule-following.

Experience

-- Studied mathematics, philosophy, & literature at MIT; completed graduate coursework in philosophy and history of science at Harvard. -- Academic interests span the sciences and humanities. -- Completed labwork in astrobiology, molecular immunology, cognitive neuroscience, natural language processing, and biomedical engineering at NASA, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, MIT's Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory, and the Harvard-MIT Division for Health Sciences and Technology. -- Also work as an editor at a literary and political magazine, where I work on essays on books and ideas. I've edited three books for MIT Press and co-edited a chapbook of poetry. -- Test scores: SAT 2400; GRE 170Q, 170V; GMAT 790 (51Q, 49 V)

Availability

Any day after 10AM

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

When I'm not teaching, I like reading, running, cycling, and traveling. Every day I try to learn something new.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!