Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Lauren tutors in Boston, MA

Lauren S.

Private tutor in Boston, MA


High School Diploma: 2006 Oakcrest High School Mays Landing NJ Undergraduate Degree (cum laude-with honors) 2010 BA (Bachelor of Arts) Majors in World Religion & Sociology Boston University, Boston MA Master's Degree (cum laude-with honors) 2012 MSW (Master of Social Work) Concentration: Health Care/Mental Health Salem State University, Salem MA


Previously tutored in after school programs for throughout high school (mainly reading and comprehension) for fellow high school students and also middle school students. SAT Reading Score in 2005 (out of 800): 750 AP courses completed in high school: AP World Literature AP English Literature AP Biology AP U.S. History AP World History Throughout my undergraduate learning I took several English Literature and French Literature courses. I also completed several research papers for my Sociology courses, and served as an editor for other students' papers in my World Religion survey course. As a Master's student studying human development and social work, I was able to gain crucial information about child and adolescent development that is helpful when understanding students' learning styles. I love to tutor because I often learn just as much from my students as they learn from me-watching others learn, absorb information, integrate that information and apply it to their current lives, and build self-confidence is amazing and so inspirational. I also was a camp counselor for 2 summers at a YMCA camp in Northern New Jersey and helped build a curriculum to incorporate reading, writing, and reflection time into each camper's day. I led a cabin of 6 girls ages 7 to 12, and a cabin of 6 adolescents/young adults, ages 15 to 18. I am a member of the National Association of Social Work, a member of the National Hospice and Palliative Care Association, and the Association of Oncology Social Work. I currently work at Brigham and Women's Hospital as a palliative care social worker during the day. I am looking to tutor after work/on weekends.


Weekends in the morning, Tues/Thurs after 5PM, Mon/Wed/Fri after 5PM

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away for no additional charge


I love to do activities outdoors, like hiking, swimming, and skiing. I have traveled extensively in both the U.S. & Europe, including to Ireland, Norway, Sweden, and Germany. I enjoy spending time with my husband of 5 years, going on day-trips throughout New England. I have many cousins who are younger (high school age through kindergarten) and when I return home to New Jersey we spend lots of time together, playing our favorite family game of Monopoly, and many times helping them with school work. My family is very important to me. Lastly, I love to read! Reading to me is essential to life-I love American and European classical literature. My favorite thing is to read in the Boston Public Garden on a nice day.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor


Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!