Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Michael tutors in Boston, MA

Michael L.

Private tutor in Boston, MA

Education

Sophomore Math Major at Boston University GPA: 3.9

Experience

My love for learning has developed into a love for teaching. I want to help my students improve and achieve in their studies and eventually enjoy learning. In high school and as an undergrad, I accelerated my academic curriculum by independently studying higher maths, physics, and Latin. I truly love learning. At the same time I tutored my classmates who were either behind on coursework or weren't challenged enough. I designed accelerated study schedules for under-performing classmates to catch up and eventually pass ahead of the class. I helped high-performing students consistently score high marks on the coursework and I presented material outside of the coursework to challenge the students and enrich their learning experience. I specialize in tutoring for standardized exams in mathematics, science, and languages. I have tutored students in the following exams: AP Calculus, AP Statistics, AP Physics Mechanics, AP Physics Electromagnetism, AP Chemistry, AP Latin, AP Chemistry, AP German, SAT Physics, SAT Chemistry, SAT Math II, SAT Latin, SAT German. I would prefer to teach from the CollegeBoard curriculum since there are many resources available for teaching these courses but I am flexible and can design personal curricula for my students using a variety of established and well-known resources. In high school, I self-studied calculus, statistics, and linear algebra. My experience as an independent learner has taught me how to tailor a student's studying to his/her knowledge and motivation. Relevant Classes: Calculus I, II, III Linear Algebra Mathematical Logic Algorithms Latin I, II, III, IV, AP, V German I, II, III, IV, AP Physics AP (M) (EM) High School Test Scores: SAT I: 2370; Critical Reading: 800; Math: 800; Writing: 770. SAT Math II: 800 SAT Physics: 800 SAT Latin: 800 AP Calculus AB: 5 AP Calculus BC: 5 AP Latin: 5 AP Computer Science AB: 5 AP Statistics: 5 AP German: 5 AP Physics C Mechanics: 5 AP Physics C Electromagnetism: 5

Availability

Weekdays in the morning, Weekdays in the afternoon, Saturday at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away for no additional charge, Up to 1 hour away for a flat fee

Hobbies

In my free time, I enjoy learning new things. My main interests are mathematics, linguistics, and music. I enjoy learning new mathematical concepts and applying them to computer science. I compete in algorithm-based programming competitions on websites such as CodeForces and TopCoder. I also enjoy learning languages (Russian, Greek, Chinese, Korean) and studying linguistics and philosophy. I like to experiment with different musical instruments, but I mainly play flute and viola. My non-academic interests include playing squash, kayaking, and cooking.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!